It Happened To Me: I Now Eat Every Vegetable

Congratulations! I now, very suddenly, like avocado. I have always loved every vegetable in the whole world, except avocado. I don’t know! The smeared green-turning-to-brown, the mushy cubes making a mess in a salad,  a half-cut avo going brown and crusty in my parents’ fridge, remnants of it dried around some dumb baby’s mouth – I just couldn’t. People would go on and on about what a delight it was – oh, they could just eat with a spoon! Oh, all they need is some salt and pepper! Maybe a lemon squeeze! Lordy. Anyway, I ate it inside some sushi, and then eventually I tried some truly delicious (fresh, cilantro heavy, lime anointed, etc.) guac with chips and salsa, and then I had it on some toast with poached eggs, and now, I have graduated to actually buying my own avocado, and putting it on my toast, or ordering it inside my lox bagel (I don’t like cream cheese.) I used to go to Peacefood and order that Avocado Tempeh Ruben sans avocado. But no more! It feels very sudden, but I suppose it was gradual. I feel truly like a woman in her 30s. Spread the news; Esther Werdiger now loves every vegetable in the world, for real.

photo (26)

The first avocado I ever purchased, with the sole intention of eating it myself, featured here in the breakfast I ate alone this past Sunday.

One thought on “It Happened To Me: I Now Eat Every Vegetable

  1. Pingback: Baking Bread (When Bread Is A Metaphor) | Bury The Fork

Leave a comment