Is It Still Brunch if There’s No One to See It?

photo-36

When life hands you one defrosted veggie sausage, almost-wilted arugula, half a tub of feta cheese and a tiny bit of early-Sunday motivation, you make a breakfast sandwich.

It’s a rare occasion when I choose not to let someone else prepare this hallowed (scorned?) meal, but I had a bunch of time and a few ideas so I decided to serve myself brunch.

First* I sliced the limp sausage into thin, diagonal pieces. I sauteed them briefly, letting them crisp and brown. Then I placed my sliced ciabatta roll face down on the still-warm skillet to toast a bit, while whisking two eggs with some milk, salt and pepper.  I removed the bread when it was slightly crispy and poured in the eggs. Scrambling eggs is a skill I have yet to fully master. I know it involves low heat and lots of patience; I’ve got one and I’m working on the other.

Sandwich assembly: layer toasty bread with slices of feta, browned v. sausage, arugula and then gently place your softly scrambled eggs on top, with some good salt and hot sauce to finish (I’m partial to Frank’s in situations like these). Carefully photograph from all angles and then stuff into your face.

.image-17

I also made coffee in my stupid Ikea french press that works, but barely, because $7.99 buys a big bag of beans and a single cortado is $4+ around these parts.

*actually, for real First I walked to the nearest fancy foodstore to purchase my fancy ciabatta and a pound of good coffee beans. I then walked through Pickle Day, a festival on Orchard Street of all things pickled and pickle-related. Should have incorporated those pickles into my sandwich but life is full of regrets.

Leave a comment